International Studies Degree

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

International Studies Degree

So, the oldest has decided he wants to change his major to International Studies. I asked him toward what career objective and he doesn't seem to know. Now, I am all for studying that which interests him, but I simply don't know much about this degree. I know there are lots of young folks on this board, so I figured I'd ask you all. What does one do with a degree in International Studies?

"No, no, you're not thinking; you're just being logical." -- Niels Bohr

Re: International Studies Degree

I have a friend that has a degree in International Studies and *I forget the foreign language*....she became and intelligence officer in the Air Force, and an interrogator. Now she's a stay-at-home-mom and does translating on the side...but when she got out she worked for a big international company in their corporate security operations. I know someone else with an International Studies minor and an Environmental Science degree and they went to law school and now they do environmental law with some non-profit and owe tons of money in student loans.

Its been a while since I was in college, but I remember being told that if you wanted a degree in something like International Studies or Political Science, etc, you should have a good minor or good internships/work experience in whatever field you actually want to work in. A lot of international business companies, non profits, etc like IS majors, but usually want to see a good background then in something like business, accounting, management, public health, environmental science, etc.

TBH, most major employers want to see internships or work experience that relate to their operations.
    Wonderful Life: The Burgess Shale and the Nature of HistoryPagan Devotionals, because the wind and the rain is our Bible
    sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by thalassa View Post