Apparently I'm not doing the 'right' 'rites'

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Apparently I'm not doing the 'right' 'rites'

So, I came across a Wiccan who is of a very Traditional Path. Now, I don't have a problem with that, but I usually will try and stay away from them because they tend to not agree with my Solitary path. Now, one actually addressed me about the fact that I don't have a God right now because one simply hasn't called out to me. She mentioned the fact that I "need" to have a God in order to be Wiccan because I have to use the God in "the Great Rite" and then she listed off about 5 or 6 other "rites" that I need to perform in order for my practice to be considered Wiccan.

Now, I think this is stupid but I wanted to be polite so I tried to answer back as well as I could. What I wanted to say was "Look lady, I actually have a life and I'm pretty busy." But I didn't. I'm a full time student with a job and disabilities and illnesses that I have to take care of. I haven't had the time to explore my path and discover all these things or perform all of these rituals.

now, my question is, whether or not the fact that I A) don't have a god, or B) don't do many "Wiccan-y" things anymore is really such a terrible thing. I am Solitary and Eclectic so I don't really think all of these specific rules are that big of a deal. I do have to live my life and I'm pretty sure the Goddess understands that. I mean, correct me if I'm wrong.
    A Happy Little Wiccan:^^:

Army of Darkness: Guardians of the Chat

Because who needs a life when you have a chatroom.

Re: Apparently I'm not doing the 'right' 'rites'

We never addressed a specific deity during the great rite. The words we used spoke of only 'goddess' and 'god'. So I don't know the version this person is speaking of. You may need a specific deity for HER version of wicca, but as you've said, you're a solitary, so no.. you're not doing it wrong.