Techniques for Meditation?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Techniques for Meditation?

Hi there! As you'll soon learn, I am a complete and utter noob at all things Pagan and/or spiritual and will probably show up from time to time to ask all you wonderful people some questions!

First things first, I would like to know how you folks begin your meditation - If you do at all.

I have tried recently, but I really can't lose myself in thought and end up being EXTREMELY aware that I am indeed trying and failing to meditate. So, long story short, what do you do when you meditate? Do you listen to anything? Do you think of anything in-particular? Just general questions like that! :^^:

Re: Techniques for Meditation?

It depends - what is the object of meditating for you?

You can't actually "fail" at meditation - there are types of meditation that involve simply letting your mind wonder - but it is possible to have problems with certain types of meditation.
    Every moment of a life is a horrible tragedy, a slapstick comedy, dark nihilism, golden illumination, or nothing at all; depending on how we write the story we tell ourselves.

Comment

Originally posted by B. de Corbin View Post
      It depends - what is the object of meditating for you?

You can't actually "fail" at meditation - there are types of meditation that involve simply letting your mind wonder - but it is possible to have problems with certain types of meditation.
      My reason for meditation is mostly for calming myself and general relaxation. I used to go with guided visualisation but it felt very constricted and I felt it was difficult to concentrate. However, every time I try to go into a relaxed state (That isn't really just dozing off) I become 'aware' -If that's a good word for it- that I am trying to become relaxed and my mind instantly seizes up. It's very odd to explain without sounding very weird but, its how It is haha

Comment