Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is witchcraft like making soup or like making a souffle?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is witchcraft like making soup or like making a souffle?

So, the other topic I just started (about proper spelling, etc ensuring proper magic), along with something else I just read made me wonder if other people think witchcraft is more like making soup (or an omelette) where substitution, innovation, improvization, etc can be really yummy, or like getting the recipe for a souffle wrong and splat, it all falls flat?
    Wonderful Life: The Burgess Shale and the Nature of HistoryPagan Devotionals, because the wind and the rain is our Bible
    sigpic

Re: Is witchcraft like making soup or like making a souffle?

Not being a cook, I'm gonna say it's close to programming. There is no specific right way. Lots of methods can reach a given goal. There are, however, plenty of wrong ways that either fail, have messy side effects or both.
    life itself was a lightsaber in his hands; even in the face of treachery and death and hopes gone cold, he burned like a candle in the darkness. Like a star shining in the black eternity of space.

Yoda: Dark Rendezvous

"But those men who know anything at all about the Light also know that there is a fierceness to its power, like the bare sword of the law, or the white burning of the sun." Suddenly his voice sounded to Will very strong, and very Welsh. "At the very heart, that is. Other things, like humanity, and mercy, and charity, that most good men hold more precious than all else, they do not come first for the Light. Oh, sometimes they are there; often, indeed. But in the very long run the concern of you people is with the absolute good, ahead of all else..."

John Rowlands, The Grey King by Susan Cooper