Shamanic Pagan

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shamanic Pagan

ok this may sound stupid but yall knwo that test on another thread "what religion are you?"
    well I took it and it told me I was a Shamanic Pagan.. I knwo you cant put must weight in those quiz's lol
    but it got me thinking... since i'm new to this path I like to keep my mind open to all the possibilities...
    can someone explain this to me

what is a Shamanic Pagan and how does it differ from Wicca..
    cause Wicca has been the only htink\g I've really read about as of yet.
    thank you
    "Close your eyes, take 20 paces farther than you thought nessesary and just when you think you've lost your way completely.. you'll be there. open your eyes" Alice Hoffman

Re: Shamanic Pagan

Honestly. I'm having a tough time coming up with many similiarities between the two. They both are a path under the Umbrella term that is Pagan. I am not a wiccan nor have I ever been so some that have experience with it may be of better help. But I can tell you what shamanism is about. In a very rough draft. (I'm at work so a super detailed response will have to wait).

A Shaman is a spiritual healer and even then a clear cut description of what they do highly depends on the individual indigenous groups.

Shamans believe in the spirit world and communicate with spirits through several methods like trancing, journeying, astral projecting, etc. We don't really have any Gods or Goddesses. We have deities that are spirits. For example, mountains and rivers are spirits (each one their own. There isn't one spirit for all rivers.) Our work includes but is not limited to aura cleansing, soul retrievals, various types of healing (spiritual and physical...like a form of reiki), doing blessings for our community in forms such as fire ceremonies and despacho's and much more.