A possible career change?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A possible career change?

So, I've had this thing that's been bugging me for ages, and I can't really figure it out.

I've been working in geology for a few years now (after having been put on academic probation and never finishing my degree) ...and I really want to go back to school in the next year or so. I miss school. Except...I can't decide if I want to go back for geology.

What I've really been mulling over, is going back and doing a fine arts degree. You know, to improve my painting, and drawing, and photography skills. I've found a few schools that are really awesome, in a city that I've always wanted to live in, but I'm pretty practical, and I am having trouble justifying going to school for three years, spending $20,000 ...to improve a hobby.

If I could make money at painting and photography, I'd be pretty happy, but at best it would be as a side job. I guess I'm just looking for opinions here: is it worth it to go back to quit my well paying full-time job, go back to school for fine arts (for three years, as a broke student again)...and then what? Maybe finally finish my geology degree, or just go back to work, or something. I have no idea.

At best, this is a bit of a near-distant future thing, because I've got some immediate plans which hinder doing this in the next year, but I just can't decide if it's even worth trying to apply, gathering a portfolio, etc.

Mostly art.

Re: A possible career change?

Volcaniclastic, it really depends on where you feel you are in your life at this moment.

If you are ready to settle down, then you should probobly go for a paying career first, and the arts in your spare time.

If you don't intend to settle down for about 5-10 years (if ever, but be realistic - things can change as you get older), you got time to play starving artist. You can finish out your degree later, when you are hungry enough.