X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Relationships between heathens and gods

( Dez allowed me to start a new thread off of a comment she made elsewhere

In reference to your post, I revere Norse/Germanic gods, but find that the Aesir have no interest in me, unlike my spouse. So I would likely not fit your search specifically for Asatruar and Odinists, but am interested in seeing where this goes.
    Dez, this post isn't necessarily in reply to you. I have no idea what you've experienced or contemplated so I wouldn't want to presume. But, I do often see a variant of this remark coming from people new to heathenry and the dynamic of the relationship can require some explaining.

The relationship between god and man tends to be a lot different than people are used to, especially if they're coming from a Christian or Christian influenced background. With God we expect to have a personal relationship--the faith is pretty much founded on the need of a personal salvation. God is said to be aware of every individual soul and concerned with every individual soul.

Personal salvation is a foreign concept in heathenry. According to Rudolf Simek in the DoNM, heathen salvation amounts to good harvest, plenty of fish and peace. Heathens aren't very concerned with enlightenment, or transcendence, or personal spiritual lessons. Those things tend to be world-rejecting rather than world-embracing. Gods in heathenry are appealed to to achieve the heathen idea of salvation (or the three "f"s), but not so much for personal matters.