Approaches to Rituals: a Few Questions from a Novice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Approaches to Rituals: a Few Questions from a Novice

I have looked through several old posts for various answers to my many beginner questions, but I feel I now have a specific set of rather particular questions and would love any tips, opinions, or other wisdom.

I am a beginner to Paganism, though I've always interacted with many different Pagan communities and have always been voraciously curious. Now I am beginning to think it is the path for me.

But about paths, I don't think any one tradition/pantheon fits me well. I've been led to Paganism through studying the Church of Satan, where ritual (Greater Magic) is psychodrama, fulfilling emotional and spiritual needs, and when performing Greater Magic, you enter a state of "objective subjectivism," a state of willfully suspended belief. The magic produced is real, but there is no great pressure of faith, deification, or literal personification/interpretation. I like this.

Now, bear with me, because I'm getting to the practice/application part. I really believe in the animus/demon/genius aspect. It is very helpful for me, and it fits to describe my experience of reality. I truly believe that my demon guides me in 70% of the creative writing I do, about 95% of my poetry, and likely near or at 100% of the writing I did before age 15. If I feel extraordinarily faithful toward a magical concept, it is that my demon exists and has always been a palpable force in my creative life in particular.

Now, although I may find it helpful to associate a force in nature with a mythological deity or deities, I find it hard to detach my academic mind from most of these figures. They could be powerful invocations in the sense that I can visualize them, name them, etc., but I can't seem to give myself over to them wholly, even in objective subjectivism.

So, my first question is: