Any Meditation Tips?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Any Meditation Tips?

I've been practicing for three years but this year has been the chance I've gotten to practice a lot more. I do a lot of mediation but sometimes I have a hard time focusing. What I do is light a few candles, turn off the lights, TV, ect. and sometimes light an incense. I close my eyes as I sit in front of my alter and I focus on the silence but sometimes I just can't do it. So I was wondering if anyone has any tips for me.
    Check out my blog, it's a good way to stay entertained if you get bored.
    http://fallenangeli.blogspot.com/

Re: Any Meditation Tips?

Try something more back to basics, when i was younger i used to climb a tree and just lay on a branch, listen to the leaves as they rustle in the wind. Go for a walk and look for somewhere that looks peacefull

Comment

You can try 'moving meditation' if sitting isn't doing it for you. Pacing, standing in the kitchen stirring a bowl of water, sweeping or anything that makes a soft, rhythmic, 'white noise' effect. Pace your breathing to your repetitive action and don't rush through whatever you're doing if you're using a chore.

I've found 'mini-meditation' works pretty well for me. Just taking 5 - 10 minutes, turning off the computer screen & staring at the blankness, or while sitting in the tub, standing in line, waiting on hold - anything where I'm stuck doing nothing for a few minutes. Instead of getting impatient over wasting my time, I use that time to relax & decompress. It has the added bonus of annoying impatient people around me, too. "Oh my God, how can you look so blissful while this checker is being so slow and incompetent!". mwuhahaha!
      The forum member formerly known as perzephone. Or Perze. I've shed a skin.

Comment

Okay, I can try all of those things. Thanks
        Check out my blog, it's a good way to stay entertained if you get bored.
        http://fallenangeli.blogspot.com/

Comment