Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How can i appreciate seasons in a predominantly stagnant-weathered area?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How can i appreciate seasons in a predominantly stagnant-weathered area?

I live in "beautiful" sunny Southern California, in Orange County no less.

Our weather is chiefly sunny with the very rare occasional sprinkle in the wintertime. We get no snow, and unless you know what season you're in there's no way to tell whether it's spring, summer, fall or winter-except for that summer is a titch hotter.

My practice relies heavily on earth worship and my modus operandi is seasonal celebration. One day i'll move to Massachusetts but for now i'm stuck here. Every year i feel a sense of disconnect as i've no means to truly experience the changes of the seasons when every day looks exactly the same. Dull and dreary and sunny.

Stuff grows throughout the whole year. The only thing that changes is that trees shed leaves and regrow them in spring.

My question is how can i get into the "mood" of the season when for me, there are no different seasons? Any ideas are greatly appreciated.
    Please disregard typos in above post. I browse the web on a Nook and i suck at typing on touch screens.

Re: How can i appreciate seasons in a predominantly stagnant-weathered area?

Southern California has seasons. They just aren't the four seasons of a temperate climate zone, because SoCal isn't in a temperate climate zone. Winter is wet and mild, the rest of the year is dry and warm. I remember it well. The seasons are obvious, you just have to know what you're looking for, and you do have to seek it out and expend some effort attuning yourself to the place. The earth in California is like that, she is generous but she is not a fool. She will give to you, but not without demanding effort, and especially not if you don't respect her.