Help a newbie.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help a newbie.

Sorry if I start a lot of threads on the forum. I'm new to actual paganism, I've been looking it up for a few months but only recently have I had the courage to mentally dedicate to it. I'd like some help with connecting to a god/goddess

Yesterday I made a tiny altar. Consisting of a candle, and a few pictures of different pagan symbols/deities that I liked. I was doing a general "Prayer" to all gods and goddesses. Kind of like a "Hi you may know me, I'm new to this but nice to meet you all." sort of thing. And although I didn't feel much, I'm sure they heard me. Now my question is, how do I properly begin a relationship with a deity? I know I'm not supposed to just jump up and say "Give me gifts! Be my patron god!" I know it takes time for a deity to get comfortable with a mortal and want to speak to them. But I just need help starting this path. This whole magic/altar world is new to me. Its a foreign language, despite having looked it up for months and months. I just feel unsure, because I know there are tricksters/bad spirits out there and I dont want to attract any of them by mucking something up.

So, when you first connected with a god/goddess, how did you do it?
    White and Red 'till I'm cold and dead.
    sigpic
    In Days of yore,
    From Britain's shore
    Wolfe the dauntless hero came
    And planted firm Britannia's flag
    On Canada's fair domain.
    Here may it wave,
    Our boast, our pride
    And joined in love together,
    The thistle, shamrock, rose entwined,
    The Maple Leaf Forever.

Re: Help a newbie.

Originally posted by Doc_Holliday View Post
    Sorry if I start a lot of threads on the forum. I'm new to actual paganism, I've been looking it up for a few months but only recently have I had the courage to mentally dedicate to it. I'd like some help with connecting to a god/goddess