Modern pagan beliefs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Modern pagan beliefs

I'm new to this forum so hello everyone. I'm also new to exploring paganism and am trying to see if my current belief system could be described as pagan. I have had no real interest in many of the 'teachings' of the major religions and find it difficult not to criticise them even though I accept that it is a right of everyone to have their own beliefs. There are too many inconsistences. As far as I can see pagan comes from a latin word which originally meant 'those who live in the country'.....outside of towns, rural dwellers. Back in pre Christian/islamic days people would have had a close affinity with the land and seasons because it gave them a means of feeding themselves and their families. It would have been important to understand nature and its ebbs and flows. Living off the land would have meant being 'unsophisticated' by city/town standards. Were there ever common 'pagan' beliefs ? Probably only those connected to the climate and nature. Most small communities probably lived in isolation for much of their time, perhaps only coming together with other nearby communities to trade etc.