"Your spiritual stuff and all that cr**"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"Your spiritual stuff and all that cr**"

Yesterday I was lamenting not being able to celebrate the spring equinox because I'm so busy with classes, and my girlfriend shrugged it off in a way that surprised me. She said I would have time for my spiritual stuff an "all that cr**." Once I graduated. She seemed to realize what she said, and tried to explain it away, saying she didn't mean it was any more ridiculous than any other religion. This really confused me, since she's always identified as "spiritual". When I tried to have a talk with her about religion, she was a bit evasive. It makes me wonder, because she's generally very nice, but I don't know now if there isn't a degree of disrespect for me lurking below the surface. I'm not sure if I should force a discussion or not.
    If you want to be thought intelligent, just agree with everyone.

Re: "Your spiritual stuff and all that cr**"

I think that inevitably a discussion will need to happen. As for right now? There could be a chance that you may be taking it a little too personal since you said you've been very busy with school. However, Spirituality is always a very personal thing and if you feel like there is an undertone of disrespect then that definitely needs to be addressed. Probably sooner than later.
    �Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted. And experience is often the most valuable thing you have to offer.�
    ― Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture
    Sneak Attack
    Avatar picture by the wonderful and talented TJSGrimm.

Comment

What Juniper said.

Inevitably, this is going to come to the surface again in some way or another.

Comment