Biblical Translations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Biblical Translations

I'm no langue expert, so this is only coming off my own personal research but relying on that of others.

I have read that the Biblical translation and it progression until today has vastly changed quiet a few things within it, I'm not sure if this is really the case or not, but I'd love to start an open discussion about it.

Re: Biblical Translations

Well it depends on where you are starting from. The old testament or at least most of it, is the same as the Jewish holy book. Which has been a fairly meticulously traditioned recopying of the same thing over and over for a really long time. (At least this is how it was explained to me.) But I do know theat what we look at as the new testament has changed, and wasn't even really a thing until the books were picked and adopted by conclave about 600 years after the reported death of Jesus. They were subsequently latin at the time, though that is not the language that many of them were originally written in. There are reports that some of the dead sea scrolls contain parts of scripture that never made it into the bible, but I am personally not too sure how accurate that is. One of the first english translations was the King James Version of the bible and that is in fact one of the worst offenders for mistranslation around. It was translated to sound pretty when read and to promote the ruling monarch of the time. I think there are even a few websites around with different translations available. When you read a bible it is why they all have a "version" like NIV or new international version, and other various letter combinations. Try sitting down with a couple which are different and see what you see. I don't think it changes much of the message, but you get different feelings when reading different versions
    http://catcrowsnow.blogspot.com/