Questions regarding mental illness

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions regarding mental illness

Hello! I am still rather new to paganism and I had some questions I was hoping someone with more wisdom and knowledge than myself could answer I am rapid cycling type 1 bipolar disorder with borderline personality disorder and will be on medication for the rest of my life. I have been on medication since I was 19 years old and living without medication is unfortunately not an option for me. I do experience, what I believe to be, forms of psychic awareness when I am off of my medication but I also suffer from paranoid delusions so sometimes this is hard to distinguish. Any psychiatrist would tell you that what I experienced as psychic awareness or energy during my mania is merely delusions of grandeur, and that very well may be true. But I don't feel anything of this nature, EVER, no matter how deep into meditation I am able to transition while on medication. Maybe my mania simply made it easier to become connected and it's still possible for me, just harder? My medications, while improving my quality of life, do create a "fog" over my brain. Sometimes I stumble for words and feel as though I am detatched. Changing my medications is also unfortunately not an option for me, it has taken many many medications to find this combination I seem to also really be struggling with building energy, I feel so drained from the moment I begin.
    So I was curious if anyone else has some experience with mental illness and performing rituals and psychic awareness. Any tips, ways to move past this, suggestions, or just to know I'm not alone would be great!

Re: Questions regarding mental illness