This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greek religion vs Roman religion

For sometime now I've considered myself a 'pagan without a path', studying a variety of spiritualities that interest me and whatnot. Recently I've had a strong connection to the Greek pantheon for 2 reasons

1) I am an avid history junkie to the 10th power...the Greeks have Clio the muse of HISTORY. As well as other muses that I feel connected with since I'm also a writer but Clio is the big one.

2) I am a proud gun owner, amateur marksmen and firearms instructor. Apollo is the father of the muses, which relates to the above, but Apollo is also the god of archery/marksmanship in a non-military sense according to my research.

That's the Greek side of the equation...

I'm also a full blooded Sicilian and thought that I'd find a place in the Roman path through a bloodline connection (reasonable conclusion right?). Trouble is I can't find much information that SEPARATES the two paths, I get that they may have similarities but their must have been some KEY differences in their theology and understanding of the Gods. THAT'S what I'm hoping to find.

If a Greek and a Roman met in the local marketplace and were discussing the Gods what would they debate about concerning them.

Anyone got any leads.

Re: Greek religion vs Roman religion

Sicily was a Greek colony for ages, so the connection could go either way.

They would debate
    -the emphasis of tutelary deities like the lares and penates
    -the toga Gabinus
    -the solidarity of religious formulas (the Romans had the mos maiorum and each polis had its own code)
    -the selection of priests and their role in rites
    -the concern the Gods actually have for individuals
    -the acceptance of foreign deities and under what terms should they be accepted
    -the anthropomorphism of the Gods
    -who deserves the first offering
    -the domain of each deity in respect to the state