Arming teachers in Utah

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Arming teachers in Utah

I've gotta stop watching ACA, it's so crappy. But I learnt this, and it's closer to home for most of you!

Gun group gives free training to Utah teachers arming themselves

Thoughts? Is this actually necessary? Or is it a massive overreaction?

As a teacher myself, I would do anything to protect my students. But I don't believe in arming myself with a concealed weapon is going to save their lives in the unlikely event that a mad man entered my classroom.
    ThorSon's milkshake brings all the PF girls to the yard - Volcaniclastic

RIP

I have never been across the way
    Seen the desert and the birds
    You cut your hair short
    Like a shush to an insult
    The world had been yelling
    Since the day you were born
    Revolting with anger
    While it smiled like it was cute
    That everything was shit.

- J. Wylder

Re: Arming teachers in Utah

Absurd, dangerous and counterproductive.

Comment

"More guns is more better" is the unofficial motto of the US, so it doesn't really surprise me. Neither does the fact that this is coming from the bible belt.

These people are going about this the wrong way, adding more guns to the situation is like throwing gas on the fire. If you want less crazed gunmen, you need either less guns or less crazy people. People don't like that fact, because it's difficult to resolve. It requires massive reform and even then you can't stop it all.

Giving teachers guns is easy and makes people feel better. Though imagine a teacher being caught with a gun before Columbine, pretty much everyone would rightfully call that teacher a nutjob even if they claimed to have it for protecting students.
      Trust is knowing someone or something well enough to have a good idea of their motivations and character, for good or for ill. People often say trust when they mean faith.

Comment

Originally posted by Aeran View Post