This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Very random and vagueish question: hearth spirit

I'm a writer, and I remember a tabletop game with a heavy foundation in real world pagan and shamanic traditions talking about a specific kind of spirit. I cannot, for the life of me, remember what that spirit was called. I figure the name was pulled from real traditions, and so thought you good people might be able to help me.

I'm looking for a spirit, probably western European in origin, which dwelt in the hearth, I think, and protected the household--building and inhabitants. I want to say the name started with a 'w,' but I can't be certain. I know it was not domovoi, and I'm 90% certain "wight," or variations thereof isn't it either.

Any idea what this word I'm racking my brain for is?

Re: Very random and vagueish question: hearth spirit

There are many entities and kinds of vaettir that dwell in hearths and other areas of the home, as well as a number of deities who are said to rule over the hearth. But off the top of my head I can't think of any that start with a 'w'.

Is there a specific reason you are looking for that particular name?

Comment

Familiarity, I suppose. I know how it was used in my experience with the word, and at least gives me something to look up to make sure I'm using it in an acceptable manner, or can at least knowingly use a term which isn't a precise fit but will work for a work of game fiction. vaettir doesn't sound quite right, but I'm thinking it might be close. My family is polish on one side, so I'll sometimes think a word pronounced with a "v" is spelled with a "w"

- - - Updated - - -

I just remembered it, but I can't find anything about it, so I'm not sure on the spelling. Something like wighter/wyder/witer. Any clue?

- - - Updated - - -