Question About Altars

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question About Altars

I have an unusual question, which is more complicated at first glance.

I've been Pagan for about ten years now. I'm just getting into Asatru. I was drawn to Thor, but as I was researching the other gods, someone on this forum mentioned that Loki is the god who teaches us to question everything, specifically social norms. For me it was a great big OH MY GODS, YES! moment.

My house is in mid-remodel at the moment, but I began instantly planning an altar for Loki.

Now to the actual question. I know that I don't *have* to have a statue of Loki on the altar, but I'd like to. I've been looking for one and I can't find any I like. They either depict him as a leering drunkard, or a horned monster. As some of you may have guessed by my name and user pic, I collect dolls and action figures. I could kitbash a figure of Loki for my altar. The thing is: most of the action figure parts I have access to would make up Marvel's Loki, as played by sexy beast Tom Hiddleston. And I just don't know how I feel about putting that on an altar.

On the one hand, Tom Hiddleston is a sexy beast and I don't think Loki would be offended to be portrayed by a man at least 3/4 of the population wants to hump. Also, I'm not 'out' to all of my family, and an action figure on an altar would just look like one more action figure to someone who didn't know better.

On the other hand, it's just a silly movie! A very silly movie! I'd kind of like to keep a distance between the comics and actual Heathenry. I don't want to disrespect the faith, you know?

Also, why is Loki always depicted with horns? Most of the statues I've seen of him have them, sometimes on his helmet, sometimes just growing out of his head. Maybe a bleed over from Christianity? He does have the nickname 'the Northern Satan'.

Anyway, I'd like to hear other's thoughts on this.

Re: Question About Altars