This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

growing my own herbs

i am wanting to grow my own herbs, what are good herbs for someone to begin growing?
    I am not one with a "green thumb" i actually have a black thumb i am not good with plants but i cant afford herbs so i think ill give it a shot.:B):

Re: growing my own herbs

Hi Jaidynfaith, good on you for deciding to grow your own herbs. Have a think about what herbs you like to cook with and whether you want to plant them in the ground or pots and then go from there. Some people will mention climate as well, and although I agree it's a sensible consideration, I haven't found the climate affects my herbs very much. But I live in a moderate climate. As far as where to plant, pots are best imo because you won't have to worry about weeding too much and you can position the pot wherever is best for the plant rather than having to choose plants based on the amount of sunlight your patch of ground will get. An obvious popular choice to grow is basil and it's a fairly hardy plant. Basil loves the sun which is great since you may be coming into summer now and it likes to be watered often. And who doesn't like pesto???

If your family or friends grow basil, you could ask for a cutting instead of buying one. You get the cutting and put it in a glass of water for a little while and wait for it to shoot roots and then plant it. http://www.17apart.com/2013/07/how-t...asil-from.html Shows you how to do this better than I can explain.

If you decide not to propagate from a cutting, get seedlings over seeds if you can and don't buy from a chain store. Imo markets or specialty nurseries are best as the plants are usually more weather hardy.