Thread: Age in Wicca

May 2013
    Religion
    Eclectic Wicca
    Aboard the Tardis in the Narnia of Tattoine
    Phrase
    Veni Vidi Vici

Age in Wicca

This is something that I've come across far to often and it bothers me to no end.

Being an Eclectic Wiccan, I find the religion to be very open and flexible. Something that every Wiccan has heard is the term 'Fluffbunny'. This is a derogatory term used to describe new and specifically YOUNG practitioners. While I have never been called this directly, the over all idea, has been used to describe me in the past. I've been Wiccan for two years now and I by no means think I'm an expert. I began at 16, and I'm now 18. I think that an issue that needs to be addressed is the judgment in our path due to it's diversity. Now normally I hate bringing up all these negative topics but I do think it needs to be addressed. I just want to make it clear that in terms of this actual forum, I haven't really come across this, but I have in other places. Most of this is due to my age and shorter experience in the path.

Phrases:

"I've been practicing longer than you've been alive" This was actually said to me, and it's probably my favorite on the list.

"You don't even know the basics. You're so close minded." Ironically, this girl was only 2 years older than me. The reason for this was because I didn't feel the need to say 'Merry Meet' to everyone I see. I don't know either, but this is a true story.

There are more instances, that I can't quote off of the top of my head.

I know I'm not the only person with these encounters and I think that it needs to be addressed. It's not okay for Wiccans to tear each other down in this way and I will say I'm not totally innocent. I have thought this about new practitioners, and it's still wrong.

Again sorry for the negative content.

Blessed Be )O(

-Serria

May 2013
    Religion
    Shamanic Practitioner & Green / Hedge Witch with Hellenic leanings
    Phrase