Help with an Interview Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with an Interview Question

Hello, everyone. It's Arella. Sorry I haven't been around lately (been busy).

"You're the only one in the office and the nurse is out at the moment. There's a couple waiting to be helped, two phone lines are ringing, someone is paging you over the intercom, there is a child in the nurse's office (sometimes they also say the principal is needing your assistance). How would you handle this?"

This is a question (not word-for-word, but it's got the most important parts in it) that I have been asked in a few interviews for secretarial positions at my local school district. I've been trying to get a better job for over a year now, and so far, a big, fat NOTHING. I'm trying to prepare myself for when I get another interview for a secretarial position at the school, but I'm stumped by this question. I can multitask, but I've never worked in a school before, so I'm not really sure how I should/would handle a situation like this. They ask this question pretty much every time.

I've thought about this question and what the best answer should be until my brain aches. I would really appreciate anyone's opinion on how a question like this should be handled. No amount of internet searching has brought up anything like this question.

(Hopefully, after all my prep work, the next time a position opens up and I get an interview, I'll ace it and get the job.)

Thanks, everyone!

Re: Help with an Interview Question

Gesture to the couple waiting to be helped that you'll just be a minute, as you answer the first call with "Greeting you're supposed to use - please hold a moment" then answer the 2nd phone the same way. Then ask the couple what they need, chances are they'll have to fill out paperwork which gives you time to answer the page and pick up the phone calls.
    sigpic
    Can you hear me, Major Tom? I think I love you.

Comment